

above freezing. Precipitation is light in the tundra area north of the treeline. Between the arctic and southern climates boreal Canada has a transitional type climate with bitter long winters but appreciable summer periods. Precipitation is light in the west, but heavier in the Ungava Peninsula.

Climatic data. Some climatic detail of individual provinces and territories is given in Section 1.1.2, Regional geography. Temperature and precipitation data for various districts are shown in Table 1.8. Additional data from hundreds of stations and reports concerning the climates of Canada and the regions are available from the atmospheric environment service of the environment department.

1.5 Time zones

Canada has six time zones. The most easterly, Newfoundland standard time, is three hours and 30 minutes behind Universal Time (UT), and the most westerly, Pacific standard time, is eight hours behind UT. From east to west, the remaining zones are called Atlantic, Eastern, Central and Mountain.

Standard Time, adopted at a world conference at Washington, DC in 1884, sets the number of time zones in the world at 24, each zone ideally extending over 1/24th of the surface of the earth and including all the territory between two meridians 15° of longi-

tude apart. In practice, the zone boundaries are quite irregular for geographic and political reasons. UT is the time of the zone centred on the zero meridian through Greenwich, England. Each of the other time zones is a definite number of hours ahead of or behind UT to a total of 12 hours, at which limit the international date-line runs roughly north-south through the mid-Pacific.

Legal authority for the time zones. Time in Canada has been of provincial rather than federal jurisdiction. Each of the provinces and territories has enacted laws governing standard time and these laws determine the time zone boundaries. Lines of communication, however, have sometimes caused communities near the boundary of a time zone to adopt the time of the adjacent zone, with amendments to provincial legislation. Official time for federal purposes is the responsibility of the National Research Council of Canada (NRC).

Based on atomic clocks, Canada's time is established by the National Research Council with a precision of one ten-millionth of a second per day, and co-ordination with other countries is maintained to the same precision through the Bureau international de l'Heure in Paris.

Daylight saving time. Most provinces have legislated provincial or municipal adoption (or rejection) of